Library Catalog About Us Library Resources Building Project Kids Teens Internet Resources



Books

Brockton Information

College

E-mail

Genealogy

Internet Help

Jobs

Taxes

Home Site Map Search
Research Databases

Magazine Articles | Newspapers | Business Information 
 Research Topics | Books & Authors

Mango Languages - Mango is a language learning program teaching practical conversation and cultural awareness for the world’s most popular languages.

Full suite of Gale databases

Magazine Articles

General Onefile: A one stop source for news and periodical articles on many general interest topics including business, market-research, and health-related articles.  Provided by the Massachusetts Library System

Ebsco Masterfile: Find full text articles in over 1000 periodicals. Also included are reference books, maps, flags and many other images.

Back to Top

Newspapers

The Boston Globe: Full-text articles from the Boston Globe (1980-)
Provided by the Massachusetts Library System

The Brockton Enterprise: Full-text articles from the Brockton Enterprise (7/5/2000 - present).

Brockton Enterprise Index: This subject oriented index was created by Brockton Public Library staff.  It covers articles from 1961-2006 emphasizing police, fire, schools, and taxes in the City of Brockton but not obituaries or homicides.

The New York Times: Full-text articles from the New York Times (1985-)
Provided by the Massachusetts Library System

Acceda Noticias: Full-text articles from Spanish language newspapers.

Back to Top

Business Information

Boston Business Journal: When you visit the online version of the Boston Business Journal you'll find the latest breaking business news, updated throughout the day, some of this week's top stories and other popular features from the print edition. Ask the reference librarian for a password to access this database (508-580-7890, x201).
Provided by the Massachusetts Library System

General BusinessFile ASAP: Includes articles on business and management topics as well as directory listings for more than 150,000 companies.
Provided by the Massachusetts Library System

Business Insights: Essentials - This is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.

Morningstar - Concise, actionable reports include the Morningstar RatingTM, buy/sell prices, Stewardship GradesSM, and risk analysis to help you research your options for any investment need. (Home users click here)

Back to Top

Research Topics

A to Z Databases: Premier Reference and Marketing Database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents.  Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!

Ancient and Medieval History Online:   Facts On File's Medieval History Online  provides biographies, timelines, primary sources and more for the ancient and medieval history of the Mideast, Greece, Rome, Asia, Africa and even America. 

Biography in Context:  Combines Gale biographical databases with full-text periodicals.
Provided by the Massachusetts Library System

Chilton Auto Repair - ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks

Consumer Reports: Provides ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice for thousands of products and services.

Culture Grams:  Experience the cultures of 190 countries and territories in reports that include maps, statistics, a glossary, flags, and in depth information on 25 categories. 

Cypress Resumes: Specifically designed for job seekers skittish about writing, Cypress Resume allows anyone to create a professional resume—one that will stand out to potential employers—in a matter of minutes.

Global Road Warrior:   Factual, cultural, demographic, historical information and much more on 175 countries.  There are also printable maps available in .pdf .  This comprehensive cultural guide is an excellent resource for students, travelers and researchers.  Use your library card number as the password.

 MassCHIP - The Massachusetts Community Health Information Profile (MassCHIP) is a dynamic, user-friendly information service that provides free, online access to many health and social indicators. With MassCHIP, you can obtain community-level data to assess health needs, monitor health status indicators, and evaluate health programs.

Opposing Viewpoints Critical Thinking: This online resource offers activities, assessments and tools that encourage students to interact with, argue about and analyze current issues and related concepts.

Oxford African American Studies Center:  Features the new Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, African American Biographies and a 5 volume hisory of the African and African American experience.

Salem Press Health:  Information regarding health and medicine from health reference works including Magill's medical guide.

Salem Press History:  Find topics in World, American and African-American history.  Includes biographies of well known athletes.

Salem Press Literature: Includes access to reference and literary criticism including critical insights, Magill's literary manual, and surveys of drama, poetry and short fiction.

Salem Press Science:  Access scientific reference databases including Encyclopedia of Global Resources,   Encyclopedia of Global Warming, Forensic Science and   The Solar System.

Worldbook Web: Includes articles from the World Book Encyclopedia and more, such as the reference center, info finder and a section for children in both English and Spanish.

Back to Top

Books & Authors

Blooms Literary Reference:  Author biographies and critical essays are provided for literature from antiquity to the present.  Essays are included on novels, short stories, poetry, drama and nonfiction.

Contemporary Literary Criticism: Provides biographical and bibliographical information as well as critical essays on contemporary authors.
Provided by the Massachusetts Library System

Ebsco e-books: Find the full text of books you can download or read online.

Back to Top

Literature Resource Center:  Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Provided by the Massachusetts Library System

Back to Top

Standardized Test Practice

Testing & Education Reference Center:   This is a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial courses designed to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass.  You'll get immediate scoring and complete answer explanations. If you are asked for a password enter 'patriot'.   The first time you access the practice test select new user to create your own user name with a password of your choice. It will then be possible to save a test in progress and return to it later.   

Back to Top

 

 

Home | Library Catalog | About the Library | Library Resources
 Building Project | Kids | Teens | Internet Resources


Web Page Last Updated 08/07/11
© Copyright 2000 Brockton Public System. All rights reserved.
Comments and suggestions to the Webmaster.